Reviews

8.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.0
Property Location
8.0
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.7
Value
8.0

Reviews

    Oliver
    es

    Review Score

    6.2
    June 19, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Serkan Bal
    tr

    Review Score

    8.8
    June 18, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Karl
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    June 18, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anthony
    au

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 16, 2018

    Location and price make it worth it

    The bathroom is seperate like a dorm
    The bars around the corner are great, the room is clean and check in was nice and easy. Big comfy bed with complimentary direct cable tv
    Jingfeng Huang
    us

    Review Score

    9.4
    June 12, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review Score

    5.8
    June 9, 2018
    There was ONE. Communal bathroom .. so getting to a shower was annoying .. and inconvenient. We paid the amount we would for a normal hotel and none of the amenities. Though I should have paid better attention to the description. It’s fine for just sleeping and leaving but not id to get ready for a night out or getting ready the morning after
    Beds were comfy and right in the art district
    Jingfeng Huang
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    June 9, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kimberley
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 8, 2018
    Great value, comfortable room
    Bennett
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    June 7, 2018

    Fab Location in DTLA Arts District

    This is not everybody's hotel. It's not kid-friendly. It has no elevator. Finding street parking takes patience, especially during popular beer drinking hours. The surrounding streets get loud with punters. One has to share the bathrooms dormitory style. None of these qualities represent drawbacks, unless one is looking for a more traditional hotel experience.
    This hotel has few standard hotel-like amenities, like restaurants, coffee counter, free breakfast, gym, free parking lot, etc. etc. However, its fabulous location, the center of the grunge-friendly Arts District, offers an unrivaled in situ DTLA experience. The hotel sits on top of the amazing Pie Hole, which opens for breakfast mid-morning and daily serves pie and an excellent cup of coffee until late. The coffee shop across the street opens at 6 am. Other excellent early morning restaurants (Urth, Bread Lounge, Poppy & Rose) and late night eateries (a half dozen taco trucks parking on neighboring streets and the Wurstküche directly opposite the hotel) populate the neighborhood or are within easy walking distance. Also, the reception staff proved especially accommodating during my last visit. For reasons unanticipated, I had to check into the hotel four times during my stay in LA. If the hotel had not accommodated me I would have had to sleep in my car or pay double or treble the price for a comparable room downtown.
    George Shepherd
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 7, 2018

    New age feel, plenty of charm, and enjoyed every minute!

    No dislikes, it was amazing!!
    Wonderful location, relaxed vibe
    Richard
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 6, 2018
    The surrounding area.
    Quiet and clean.
    gt

    Review Score

    10
    June 6, 2018

    100% recommended

    American Hotel was one of the best things of my trip, really close to the metro station (little Tokyo) that will take you to union station and you can go anywhere from there, great places to eat and hang out near the hotel, great area (we felt safe the whole time), staff members were great and really helpful and even though they have share bathrooms they were always clean and available. Literally no complains.
    Дмитрий
    ua

    Review Score

    7.5
    June 5, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Donniesha
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    June 5, 2018
    There is no parking, so we had to pay for parking at a nearby lot. And there are only shared bathrooms, so the rooms do not come with their own. Bring shower shoes.
    It was very modern and clean on the inside. The rooms are tastefully designed, and very spacious and comfortable. The surrounding stores and such were very open, and the night life in the area is great. Also a walk away from little Tokyo, so it was great.
    Joon
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    June 4, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ana
    pt

    Review Score

    9.2
    June 15, 2018
    The common bathrooms were extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great stay in American Hotel.
    au

    Review Score

    7.9
    June 13, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    no

    Review Score

    6.7
    June 7, 2018
    Cleanliness of the bathrooms not too good, I found mold on my pillows, and the walls were very thin. Quite a lot of sound coming through the walls.
    Good location, cool design, comfortable bed and nice staff
    Gwen
    mx

    Review Score

    6.7
    June 4, 2018

    Nice facilities in good location. Pricey for what you get.

    Walls are thin. You can hear other guest conversations. Front desk could use people who know the Arts District well. A map of the Arts District and a walking tour would be of great benefit. Front Desk could also have offered to assist with luggage up the stairs.
    JurgenTravel
    ru

    Review Score

    6.2
    June 4, 2018

    American Hotel Los Angeles downtown review

    1) front desk works only till the evening 2) wc for common use and occupied in the mornings 3) sounds from the streets heard good espesially perairing of road in the daytime 4) far from food markets in the evening 5) no breakfast 6) many rooms like in a hostel 7) no access without code in the night many people knocking on the door in the night and disturb guests, hotel should several times remind code or give a paper with code to avoid this also telling nobody works in the night on front desk 8) cheap simple funiture but bed is good )) General impression is good comparing to SanFrancisco and NYC hotels ))
    1) typical amarican style! 2) clean room 3) comfortable bed 4) kind and funny personnel 5) welcome water:)
Loading reviews...