Reviews

8.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
7.9
Property Location
8.0
Facilities
7.6
Staff
8.7
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Anita
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christina
    us

    Review Score

    5.8
    April 23, 2018

    Hostel, not hotel

    My complaint is less with the property and more with the booking.com description and reviews, but I should have not made so many assumptions. The surprises I found out were 1. Stairs only, my brother had a broken leg and we were on the fourth floor. 2. Communal bathrooms, the last thing I want when under time constraints in the morning or trying to clean up before bed. 3. Despite the name, this is a Hostel or communal apartment complex. 4. The location is rough. I'm in heels and a dress lugging a suitcase out of an Uber in the middle of the night and my brother is on crutches. I did not feel safe. 5. For $168 for a night, I would have rather stayed in a $350 hotel. Overpriced for a convention that weekend but still.
    There was someone there to help carry my bags up and down stairs and the made check-in and check-out worry free. This was incredibly helpful during a late check-in. There was a window unit to keep us cool through the night.
    Ratirat
    th

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 23, 2018

    Great value of money to stay and I will rebook it again if I go back to LA

    Internet was very poor signal (Only one thing I could see)
    Cleanliness, good location to have Japanese foods and close to Little Tokyo Metro Sation
    Brandon
    us

    Review Score

    10
    April 23, 2018

    Very nice location room accommodated everyone lots to do near downtown and close to the beaches

    Andrew
    au

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 20, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Patricia
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 18, 2018

    Good

    No parking lot
    it

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 18, 2018
    Maybe the shared bathrooms are not the best, there's not too much privacy
    Nice location, very close to downtown. Room was big and cozy. Room and bathrooms were very clean.
    Jane
    gb

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 10, 2018

    Friendly place. Clean and in a good location. A bit boisterous at night.

    Room door locks were not very reassuring - the locked door moved when outside doors opened and closed meaning I kept thinking someone was coming in. Other guests were loud at night.
    Friendly staff. Good location. Clean.
    Rosario
    kr

    Review Score

    7.5
    April 9, 2018

    Nice hotel, nice staff. Not for you if you are going to Hollywood a lot.

    The thing I didn't like was that the rooms dont have private bathrooms, there are shared bathrooms per floor. Besides, I'm a person that doesn't like to buy water bottles (because plastic waste) and the only way to get clean water in the hotel is the complementary water bottles they give you. They are willing to give you as many water bottles as you'd like but my problem is the fact that the tap water is not drinkable. I tried to fill the water heater, they had kindly given to me, with tap water and to me, that water was definitely not drinkable even if you boiled it.
    The staff is really friendly, they treat you super nice and are willing to help you with anything. They can give you a water heater and, their water bottles are complimentary. It is located in the Arts District so you see a lot of great painted and artsy walls around, Union Station is also very close and you can get anywhere from there. However, if you are going to Hollywood or Beverly Hills, Universal, or Burbank most of the days of your stay, like I did, I would not recommend staying in Downtown but rather in West Hollywood, cause otherwise you are gonna spend more money on transportation.
    Dipanjan
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 9, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Haley
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Emily
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 3, 2018

    Very affordable, no parking, shared bathrooms.

    The bathrooms are communal. The room is basic.
    The price.
    Zrod805
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    April 2, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Bruce
    us

    Review Score

    7.9
    April 2, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    PAUL VINCENT
    hk

    Review Score

    5.8
    April 1, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cora
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    April 1, 2018

    I liked the hotel and I would definitely stay again if I am traveling without a child

    I didn't like the fact that there were no kid-frienly restaurants nearby. My son is very picky and he doesn't eat much.
    I liked the friendliness of the staff. They were very helpful when I needed it. The room was nice and clean. Other hotel guests were friendly. The price was great given the location in the arts district. There were good restaurants nearby for adults.
    Виктор Дегтярь
    ua

    Review Score

    10
    March 30, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Johnson
    us

    Review Score

    3.3
    March 29, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marissa
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    March 27, 2018

    The American Hotel is in a perfect location and very comfortable; I recommend staying here.

    The TV in our room didn't have any sound and the screen was bright purple no matter what channel. Also, every time I went into the bathroom, there was either pee on a toilet seat, or used tissues on the counter. I understand that when a lot of people are using a bathroom, it can get messy. I don't mind sharing, but I think they should clean them more frequently.
    The room was clean and extremely comfortable. If you don't mind a shared bathroom, this is ideal because not having a bathroom in the room allowed for a lot of extra space for us. The location is amazing, close to great food, drinks, and shopping. A lot of fun activities within walking distance as well.
    au

    Review Score

    10
    March 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews...